Toilet facilities in Antarctica

I already miss the life on the ice a little bit…

Don´t misunderstand… it has been really good to see my family, especially my little nephew who started to speak during the two months I was away.  And it has been so much fun to get all the updates from my friends…

My nephew and I on top of Ulvetanna

My nephew and I on top of Ulvetanna

But even if some days in Antarctica where really (-really-really) cold, and other days was extremely hard work, I now remember the life on the ice being more easy than real life.

Like going to the toilet…

  • Yes, I sometimes felt that I was freezing my ass of.
  • Yes, while hanging in my climbing-harness half way up Ulvetanna, it was a lot of work to get of all the layers of clothing (6-7 layers). ….-and I hated it 😉
  • Yes, I sometimes (almost every day) missed a warm toilet-seat.
a typical, I miss a modern-toilet-situation

a typical, I miss modern-toilet-facilities-moment

SAM_0372

a typical, “really-hope-I-dont-have-to-pee-any-time-soon” moment

But there were quite a few positive aspects about the Antarctic toilets: I could go wherever I wanted, whenever I wanted to. And to be honest… I didn’t need a hot toilet seat and fun magazines, when I was surrounded by beautiful scenery. Every time I went for a wee-wee I had the most amazing view.

Now, back in the real world I need to look for a public toilet. If I just pull down my pants, and sit down on the street as soon as I feel that I need to pee, people will look at me like I´m a freak (that would of course be totally understandable).

I think it´s funny that while I was on the ice, I really missed the comfortable toilet facilities … -and after two weeks in civilization, I have almost forgot about the minus degrees and I miss the simplicity of just going to the loo whenever and wherever!

SAM_0625

toilet with a view

another toilet, another view...

another toilet, another view…

2 responses to “Toilet facilities in Antarctica

  1. You really make it seem really easy with your presentation however I in finding this matter to be actually one thing that I believe I might by no
    means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and extremely
    vast for me. I am taking a look ahead to your next post, I’ll
    try to get the hold of it!

    • hello 🙂
      we were lucky with weather, and noone got hurt on this trip… so we actually had 50 days that was really not that hard 😉
      i was surprised myself that I enjoyed beeing in this element as much as I did. I truly miss it!!
      but of course… it didn´t always feel like a walk in the park 😉
      hopefully I will get the time to sit down and write some longer stories from the trip soon…. 🙂

Leave a comment